Police and Civilian Award nominations now being accepted

Every day people in the line of duty selflessly serve with honor, professionalism and distinction. Many go above and beyond the call of duty. Some of those actions are so heroic, brave and self-sacrificing the deserve public recognition.

The MCPA will salute these people at our Annual Awards Banquet during the Executive Training Institute. The 2017 banquet will be held on the evening of Monday, April 24th at the River's Edge Convention Center in St. Cloud.

Statewide awards nominations for actions that occurred (or had been adjudicated in 2016)  are now being accepted. To apply, please click here to fill our the online application. Please have a prepared narrative that includes details on the situation, time or date range and location as well as information that describes what happened and what actions your officer (or officers) took. Please also say why you feel the actions of your officer or officers rise to the level of receiving this honor.

Click here for the list of awards and criteria
Apply for on of MCPA's Statewide Awards

Application Deadline, Monday, JANUARY 30, 2017 -- Note: this is a revised, earlier deadline
The MCPA Awards committee will be meeting in mid-February to consider nominations. Award recipients will be notified in the weeks following.

Excellence in Innovation Award

The MCPA is also presenting the inaugural Excellence in Innovation Award, which recognizes one small and one large department for finding a creative solution to a public safety issue click here for more on that award.
Here is a look at the 2016 Award Recipients:

(For acts performed or adjudicated in 2015)  


Given in recognition of the recipient who made the supreme sacrifice, who gave their life in the service of the community, state and country in the highest traditions of the law enforcement profession.

Deputy Steven Sandberg, Atkin Co


Awarded for actions in a single event which demonstrate bravery, heroism and/or self-sacrifice; clearly distinguishing the individual for gallantry and bravery under life-threatening circumstances.

Officer James Tietje, Fairmont PD

Sgt. William Ownes, Lino Lakes PD
Officer Amy Therkelsen, Plymouth PD

Sgt. Tom Rothfork, Robbinsdale PD

Capt. Scott Crocker
Officer Erick Dyer, New Hope PD
and Officer of the Year:
Beau Schoenhard


Awarded for a single act in which the officer displayed extraordinary performance in his/her duty to save the life of a person that would have likely died if not for the action of the officer.
 Officer Andrew Boen, Breckenridge PD


Awarded for outstanding achievement

Officer Kate Deering, Brooklyn Ctr PD

Sgt. Aeisso Schrage, E. Grand Forks

Crystal PD & BCA

Rosemont PD, Dakota CO SO, & BCA


Awarded for exceptional achievement and extraordinary valor, service, professionalism and leadership.

Det. Derrick Brinkman, Savage PD    Officer Tom Pitzl, Roseville        Officer Bryan Bye, Burnsville PD