MCPA Statewide & Innovation Awards


Each year MCPA recognizes police chiefs and their department for everything from distinguished service to innovation.  The 2018 call for entries is now open for both the Statewide Awards and Innovation Awards.  Officers and departments will be honored during the ETI and Law Enforcement Expo April 24th in Duluth.

The deadline to nominate a department and/or officer is January 1st.

Statewide Award Submission Requirements:

  • All nominations must be submitted by a CLEO.
  • If you are nominating someone from another agency, the nominee’s CLEO must be notified.
  • A digital photo of the nominee must be attached in this form with the application.
  • Nominations must be submitted by Monday, January 1, 2018 for consideration and presentation at the Executive Training Institute Awards Banquet in April.
    Award Categories:

    Be sure to include details on the situation, including time, date and location as well as information that describes what happened and what actions your officer (or officers) took. Please also say why you feel the actions of your officer or officers rise to the level of receiving this honor.

Excellence in Innovation Award

The MCPA Excellence in Innovation Award recognizes Minnesota police agencies and their CLEOs for superior achievement and innovation in law enforcement programs, efforts, or initiatives that benefit law enforcement as a profession.


Please use the file attachment link below to upload an explanation of your department's innovation.
In your narrative, be sure to include all of the following elements:

1 Level of Innovation
2 Effectiveness
3 Ability to replicate
4 Overall Impact


 Please follow the link to submit your Excellence in Innovation Award nomination and narrative