MCPA Statewide & Innovation Awards

 Each year MCPA recognizes police chiefs and their department for everything from distinguished service to innovation.  The entry period for both the Statewide Awards and Innovation Awards is now open.  Officers and departments will be honored during the 2023 ETI and Law Enforcement Expo in Duluth.

Here is a link to the nomination form. 

Statewide Award Submission Requirements:

  • All nominations must be submitted by a CLEO
  • If you are nominating someone from another agency, the nominee’s CLEO must be notified
  • A digital photo of the nominee must be attached in this form with the application

Award Categories:

Police Officer of the Year - Given in recognition of an outstanding officer whose actions exceed expectations after having been injured, faced imminent personal hazards to life above and beyond the call of duty, and demonstrated courage in dangerous or emergency conditions which resulted in the successful resolution of the situation
Medal of Honor - Awarded for sacrifice in a single event which demonstrates bravery, heroism and/or self-sacrifice; clearly distinguishing the individual for gallantry and bravery under life-threatening circumstances
Distinguished Service Award - Awarded for outstanding achievement including crime prevention, detective work, community service and relations, juvenile work, drug control and prevention, training safety, mentoring, and innovative approaches to public safety
Meritorious Service Award - Awarded for exceptional achievement and extraordinary valor, service, professionalism and leadership.
Police Cross - Given in recognition of the recipient who made the supreme sacrifice, who gave their life in service of the community, state and country in the highest traditions of the law enforcement profession.
Citizen’s Valor Award - Presented to a citizen who voluntarily puts his safety at risk to aid a police officer or fellow citizen during a criminal act or life-threatening situation.

Excellence in Innovation Award:

The MCPA Excellence in Innovation Award recognizes Minnesota police agencies and their CLEOs for superior achievement and innovation in law enforcement programs, efforts, or initiatives that benefit law enforcement as a profession.  The link to the application form is below the award category.


Please use the file attachment link below to upload an explanation of your department's innovation.
In your narrative, be sure to include all of the following elements:

1 Level of Innovation
2 Effectiveness
3 Ability to replicate
4 Overall Impact


Apply/Nominate a candidate for Excellence in Innovation Award