MCPA Excellence in Innovation Award

The MCPA Excellence in Innovation Award recognizes large and small Minnesota municipal police agencies and their CLEOs for superior achievement and innovation. This award program is designed to recognize exceptional, innovative, and extraordinary achievement in law enforcement programs, efforts, or initiatives that benefit law enforcement as a profession.

Award + Presentation 

The award highlights the achievement of agencies in implementing an innovative program or initiative that enhances the effectiveness of law enforcement and the communities they are sworn to protect and serve. The 2023 Excellence in Innovation Awards will be presented at MCPA's Executive Training Institute (ETI) in St. Cloud.

Criteria and Judging
The MCPA Board of Directors will review submissions based on the following criteria and choose one small and one large agency to be honored with the 2023 Excellence in Innovation Award.
  • Nominations must be submitted by March 15, 2024.
  • Nominations may be submitted by any Minnesota municipal police agency, city or county official by using the online form linked below. 
  • The small agency award will be given to agencies with 15 or fewer sworn officers. 
  • The following four criteria areas will be used to judge nomination submissions. All nominations should explicitly address these four categories.  
    1. Level of Innovation
    2. Effectiveness
    3. Ability to replicate
    4. Overall Impact.

Nominate an agency today!